Ostrich HotelStation Road
The Ostrich Hotel was opened in 1851, with the coming building of the London to Hastings railway, and is just across from the station. The name is derived from the coat of arms on its sign, which are those of the lordship of the Manor of Robertsbridge In the 1850s that had been bought (1822) by the Allfrey family of Bantony, Salehurst ( purchased 1818) who had also purchased lands that had been part of the demesne of Robertsbridge Abbey in 1821 . It is a comfortable pub with a large library, a fine assortment of paintings, prints and other pieces from the licensee’s collection. Somewhat saucy prints are generally to be found in the loos. There is a generous 1st floor function room and a unique tropical garden that features a regular BBQ in the summer at weekends. Lunches are served and there is both a light and a more more substantial menu available. The Guest Ale changes, examples are Harveys Old; Old Dairy Red Top, Blue Top; Dark Star Hophead.